Working Groups

Working Group

Last Name

First Name

email

JHS CCRC Liaisons

email

JHS CCDC Liaisons

email

Meets on (day of the month) Time

CVD Outcomes

Mentz

Robert

robert.mentz@duke.edu

Nancy Min

ymin@umc.edu

Wond Yimer

wyimer@umc.edu

Based on availability   Based on availability

O'Brien

Emily

emily.obrien@duke.edu

William Hillegass

whillegass@umc.edu

 

 

   

Klein

Liviu

Liviu.Klein@ucsf.edu

           
                   

HTN

 

Muntner

Paul

pmuntner@uab.edu

Mario Sims

msims2@umc.edu

Loretta Cain

lcain@umc.edu

2nd Tuesday

11 am CT

Shimbo

Daichi

ds2231@cumc.columbia.edu

 

whillegass@umc.edu

 

 

   

Ogedegbe

Olugbenga

Olugbenga.Ogedegbe@nyumc.org

           
                   

CKD

Young

Bessie

youngb@u.washington.edu

Lynette Ekunwe

lynette.ekunwe@jsums.edu

Loretta Cain

lcain@umc.edu

3rd Wednesday 3 pm CT

Diamantidis

Clarissa

clarissa.j.diamantidis@duke.edu

           
                   

Diabetes& Obesity

Bertoni

Alain

abertoni@wakehealth.edu

Adolfo Correa

acorrea@umc.edu

Yan Gao

ygao@umc.edu

4th Tuesday 1 pm CT

Joseph

Joshua

joseph.117@osu.edu

 

 

       
                   

Nutrition & Physical Activity

Talegwakar

Sameera

stalega1@gwu.edu

Nancy Min

ymin@umc.edu

Loretta Cain

lcain@umc.edu

4th Wednesday 1 pm CT

Newton

Robert

robert.newton@pbrc.edu

 

 

       
                   

Social Determinants of Health

Barber

Sharrelle

smb483@drexel.edu

Mario Sims

msims2@umc.edu

Yan Gao

ygao@umc.edu

4th Friday 1 pm CT

Sims

Mario

MSims2@umc.edu

   

Loretta Cain

lcain@umc.edu

   

Genetics

Lange

Leslie

leslie_lange@med.unc.edu

Solomon Musani

SMusani@umc.edu

Yan Gao

ygao@umc.edu

4th Friday 3pm CT

Raffield

Laura

laura_raffield@unc.edu

           
                   

CMS

Yang

Yi

yiyang@olemiss.edu

Adolfo Correa

acorrea@umc.edu

Pramod Anugu

panugu@umc.edu

   

Hammill

Brad

brad.hammill@duke.edu

Nancy Min

ymin@umc.edu

Loretta Cain

lcain@umc.edu

   
                   

EKG / Arrhythmia

Floyd

James

jfloyd@uw.edu

Adolfo Correa

acorrea@umc.edu

Wond Yimer

wyimer@umc.edu

4th Tuesday 3 pm CT

Sotoodehnia

Nona

nsotoo@u.washington.edu

William Hillegass

whillegass@umc.edu

       
                   

Biomarkers

Doyle

Margaret

Margaret.doyle@uvm.edu

Solomon Musani

SMusani@umc.edu

Yan Gao

ygao@umc.edu

   

Lewis

Michael

Michael.Lewis@uvmhealth.org

           
                   

Healthy Aging

 

Barnes

Lisa

Lisa_L_Barnes@rush.edu

Adolfo Correa

acorrea@umc.edu

Wond Yimer

wyimer@umc.edu

1st Tuesday 3 pm CT

Manly

Jennifer

jjm71@cumc.columbia.edu

Nancy Min

ymin@umc.edu

 

 

   

Windham

Gwen

gwindham@umc.edu

           
                   

Community Engagement

Boutin-Foster

Carla

Carla.Boutin-Foster@downstate.edu

Mario Sims

msims2@umc.edu

    3rd Tuesday 1 pm CT

Sutton

Victor

Victor.Sutton@msdh.ms.gov

Adolfo Correa

acorrea@umc.edu

       
                   

For queries re:

                 

Research coordination

   

jhsccrc@umc.edu

           

Data coordination

   

jhsccdc@umc.edu

           

JHS Working Groups

Would you like to be added to any of our Jackson Heart Study Working Groups? 



Jackson State University was recently awarded a five year contract to implement the Jackson Heart Study (JHS) Community Outreach Center (CORC).  The contract period is from 8/16/2013-8/15/2014 for a total amount of 3,086,081.  The CORC is an expansion of the highly successful operation of the Community Partnership Office (CPO), in the Jackson State University Coordinating Center, which operated from 1999-2013.  During the era of the CPO, relationships and partnerships were developed with over 100 churches, community based organizations, governmental agencies, private non-profit organizations, other institutions of higher learning and individual partners.  A community based participatory research (CBPR) component has been added under this new contract period.

Vanguard Centers


We are no longer accepting Vanguard Center Applications.

Jackson Heart Study Vanguard Centers

Vanguard Collaborative Centers offer an additional mechanism for sharing Jackson Heart Study (JHS) data to foster collaborations and increase scientific productivity. JHS Vanguard Centers will enhance the scientific productivity of the JHS by participating in and contributing to JHS collaborations in the development of manuscript and ancillary study proposals and manuscripts.

 

Benefits of JHS Vanguard Centers

a.       Vanguard Centers will receive a JHS Data Package from the JHS Coordinating Center, please see the JHS Vanguard Center Package Contents document for the latest package description.

b.      JHS Vanguard Centers with expertise and experience in analysis of genetic data and with approved access to JHS dbGap data may request  access to genetic data on JHS participants who have provided consent for such collaborations.

c.       The JHS Coordinating Center will assist in answering queries from the Vanguard Centers regarding the JHS data.

 

JHS Vanguard Center Eligibility Criteria

EacJHS Vanguard Center is expected to be affiliated with a biomedical/public health research institution. To apply to become a JHS Vanguard Centeran institution must fulfill the followingeligibility criteria:

a.       Have an investigator willing to serve aPI for the Vanguard Center  and assume responsibility for overseeing security of the JHS data received;

b.      Have a data curator to serve as the primary contact for receipt of JHS Vanguard Center data updates and manage JHS datasets for Vanguard Center Investigators.

c.       Have additional investigators at the same institution willing and able to collaborate on manuscript and ancillary study proposals and on manuscripts and ancillary studies of cardiovascular diseases among JHS participants.

 

Each JHS Vanguard Center is expected to:

a.      Provide its own internal administrative support.

b.      Participate in reviews of: 2 or more manuscript proposals; 2 or more ancillary  study

      proposals per year; and 2 or more penultimate manuscripts as requested by theJHS Publications and Presentations Subcommittee (PPS) and the Ancillary Studies Subcommittee (ANSS).

c.       Submit at least 2 manuscripts per year to the PPS initiateby the Vanguard Centerand involving JHS data.

d.      Submit a semi-annual progress report online on: (1) status of manuscript proposals,ancillary study proposals and active or penultimate manuscripts initiated by the Vanguard Center; and (2) lists of reviews completed for manuscript proposals, ancillary study proposals and penultimate manuscripts.

e.       Work with JHS to improve the JHS Vanguard Center program and experience for others.

 

Investigators interested in submitting aapplication for a JHS Vanguard Center for their institution should contact Dr. Arnita Norwood  (601-815-5783, jhsccrc@umc.edu) to request an application package.