Working Groups

Working Group

Last Name

First Name

Affiliation

email

JHS RC Liaisons

email

JHS DC Liaisons

email

CVD Outcomes

Mentz

Robert

Duke

robert.mentz@duke.edu

Nancy Min

ymin@umc.edu

Wond Yimer

wyimer@umc.edu

O'Brien

Emily

Duke

emily.obrien@duke.edu

Karen Valle

kvalle@umc.edu

Klein

Liviu

UCSF

Liviu.Klein@ucsf.edu

HTN

Muntner

Paul

UAB

pmuntner@uab.edu

Mario Sims

msims2@umc.edu

Karen Valle

kvalle@umc.edu

Abdalla

Marwah

NYU

ma2947@cumc.columbia.edu

Loretta Cain

lcain@umc.edu

Ogedegbe

Olugbenga

Columbia

Olugbenga.Ogedegbe@nyumc.org

CKD

Young

Bessie

UW

youngb@u.washington.edu

Lynette Ekunwe

lynette.ekunwe@jsums.edu

Loretta Cain

lcain@umc.edu

Boulware

Ebony

Duke

ebony.boulware@duke.edu

Stanford Mwasongwe

smwasongwe@umc.edu

DM & Obesity

Bertoni

Alain

Wake Forest

abertoni@wakehealth.edu

Arnita Norwood

afnorwood@umc.edu

Yan Gao

ygao@umc.edu

Carnethon

Mercedes

Northwestern

carnethon@northwestern.edu

Nutrition & PA

Talegwakar

Sameera

George Washington

stalega1@gwu.edu

Arnita Norwood

afnorwood@umc.edu

Loretta Cain

lcain@umc.edu

Newton

Robert

Pennington

robert.newton@pbrc.edu

Nancy Min

ymin@umc.edu

Social Determinants of Health

Barber

Sharrelle

Drexel University

smb483@drexel.edu

Mario Sims

msims2@umc.edu

Yan Gao

ygao@umc.edu

Sims

Mario

UMMC

MSims2@umc.edu

Loretta Cain

lcain@umc.edu

Genetics

Wilson

Jim

UMMC

jgwilson2@umc.edu

Solomon Musani

SMusani@umc.edu

Yan Gao

ygao@umc.edu

Lange

Leslie

U Colorado

leslie_lange@med.unc.edu

Raffield

Laura

UNC

laura_raffield@unc.edu

CMS

Banahan

Ben

U Mississippi

benb3@olemiss.edu

Adolfo Correa

acorrea@umc.edu

Pramod Anugu

panugu@umc.edu

Hammill

Brad

Duke

brad.hammill@duke.edu

Loretta Cain

lcain@umc.edu

EKG/Arrhythmia

Heckbert

Susan

UW

heckbert@uw.edu

Adolfo Correa

acorrea@umc.edu

Wond Yimer

wyimer@umc.edu

Sotoodehnia

Nona

UW

nsotoo@u.washington.edu

Biomarkers

Doyle

Margaret

U VT

Margaret.doyle@uvm.edu

Solomon Musani

SMusani@umc.edu

Yan Gao

ygao@umc.edu

Lewis

Michael

U VT

Michael.Lewis@uvmhealth.org

Healthy Aging

Barnes

Lisa

Rush U

Lisa_L_Barnes@rush.edu

Adolfo Correa

acorrea@umc.edu

Karen Valle

kvalle@umc.edu

Manly

Jennifer

UMMC

jjm71@cumc.columbia.edu

Wond Yimer

wyimer@umc.edu

Windham

Gwen

Columbia

gwindham@umc.edu

Community Engagement

Boutin-Foster

Carla

SUNY Downstate

Carla.Boutin-Foster@downstate.edu

Arnita Norwood

afnorwood@umc.edu

Sutton

Victor

MSDH

Victor.Sutton@msdh.ms.gov

JHS Working Groups

Would you like to be added to any of our Jackson Heart Study Working Groups? 



Jackson State University was recently awarded a five year contract to implement the Jackson Heart Study (JHS) Community Outreach Center (CORC).  The contract period is from 8/16/2013-8/15/2014 for a total amount of 3,086,081.  The CORC is an expansion of the highly successful operation of the Community Partnership Office (CPO), in the Jackson State University Coordinating Center, which operated from 1999-2013.  During the era of the CPO, relationships and partnerships were developed with over 100 churches, community based organizations, governmental agencies, private non-profit organizations, other institutions of higher learning and individual partners.  A community based participatory research (CBPR) component has been added under this new contract period.

Vanguard Centers


We are no longer accepting Vanguard Center Applications.

Jackson Heart Study Vanguard Centers

Vanguard Collaborative Centers offer an additional mechanism for sharing Jackson Heart Study (JHS) data to foster collaborations and increase scientific productivity. JHS Vanguard Centers will enhance the scientific productivity of the JHS by participating in and contributing to JHS collaborations in the development of manuscript and ancillary study proposals and manuscripts.

 

Benefits of JHS Vanguard Centers

a.       Vanguard Centers will receive a JHS Data Package from the JHS Coordinating Center, please see the JHS Vanguard Center Package Contents document for the latest package description.

b.      JHS Vanguard Centers with expertise and experience in analysis of genetic data and with approved access to JHS dbGap data may request  access to genetic data on JHS participants who have provided consent for such collaborations.

c.       The JHS Coordinating Center will assist in answering queries from the Vanguard Centers regarding the JHS data.

 

JHS Vanguard Center Eligibility Criteria

EacJHS Vanguard Center is expected to be affiliated with a biomedical/public health research institution. To apply to become a JHS Vanguard Centeran institution must fulfill the followingeligibility criteria:

a.       Have an investigator willing to serve aPI for the Vanguard Center  and assume responsibility for overseeing security of the JHS data received;

b.      Have a data curator to serve as the primary contact for receipt of JHS Vanguard Center data updates and manage JHS datasets for Vanguard Center Investigators.

c.       Have additional investigators at the same institution willing and able to collaborate on manuscript and ancillary study proposals and on manuscripts and ancillary studies of cardiovascular diseases among JHS participants.

 

Each JHS Vanguard Center is expected to:

a.      Provide its own internal administrative support.

b.      Participate in reviews of: 2 or more manuscript proposals; 2 or more ancillary  study

      proposals per year; and 2 or more penultimate manuscripts as requested by theJHS Publications and Presentations Subcommittee (PPS) and the Ancillary Studies Subcommittee (ANSS).

c.       Submit at least 2 manuscripts per year to the PPS initiateby the Vanguard Centerand involving JHS data.

d.      Submit a semi-annual progress report online on: (1) status of manuscript proposals,ancillary study proposals and active or penultimate manuscripts initiated by the Vanguard Center; and (2) lists of reviews completed for manuscript proposals, ancillary study proposals and penultimate manuscripts.

e.       Work with JHS to improve the JHS Vanguard Center program and experience for others.

 

Investigators interested in submitting aapplication for a JHS Vanguard Center for their institution should contact Dr. Arnita Norwood  (601-815-5783, jhsccrc@umc.edu) to request an application package.