Working Groups
  • Nutrition and Physical Activity
  • Diabetes and Obesity Working Group
  • Chronic Kidney Disease
  • Hypertension
  • CVD Outcomes
  • Genetics
  • Psychosocial

Last Name

First Name

Type of Member

Institutional Affiliation

Email

Tucker

Katherine

Co-Chair

U Mass at Lowell

katherine_tucker@uml.edu

Carithers

Theresa

Co-Chair

U MS at Oxford

carither@olemiss.edu

Banahan

Ben

Data analyst

U MS at Oxford

banahan@olemiss.edu

Okhomina

Victoria

JHS DC Liaison

UMMC

vokhomina@umc.edu

Chinn

Felicia

Student Member

U MS at Oxford

fnchin@go.olemiss.edu

Correa

Adolfo

JHS Investigator

UMMC

acorrea@umc.edu

      Djousse

Luc

VC

Brigham and Women’s Hospital

ldjousse@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Dubbert

Pat

Member

Veterans' Admin

Patricia.Dubbert@va.gov

Glover

La'Shaunte' (Tay)

Student Member

U MS at Oxford

lmglover@go.olemiss.edu

Griswold

Mike

Member

UMMC

mgriswold@umc.edu

Harman

Jane

NHLBI

NHLBI

harmanj@nhlbi.nih.gov

Hickson

DeMarc

Member

UMMC

dhickson@umc.edu

Ikuta

Tossi

Member

U MS at Oxford

tikuta@olemiss.edu

Maras

Janice

Member

Northeastern

janice.maras@neu.edu

Newton

Robert

Member

Pennington Center

Robert.Newton@pbrc.edu

Norwood

Arnita

Member/JHS RC Liaison

UMMC

afnorwood@umc.edu

Saklani

Shilpa

Data analyst

UML

shilpa_saklani@uml.edu

Talagawkar

Sameera

Member

JHSPH

stalegaw@jhsph.edu

Yang

Yi

Member

U MS at Oxford

yiyang@olemiss.edu

Last Name

First Name

Type of Member

Institutional Affiliation

Email

Bertoni

Alain

Co-Chair

Wake Forest

abertoni@wakehealth.edu

Carnethon

Mercedes

Co-Chair

Northwestern

carnethon@northwestern.edu

Golden

Sherita

Co-Chair

Johns Hopkins

sahill@jhmi.edu

Norwood

Arnita

JHS RC Liaison

UMMC

afnorwood@umc.edu

Blackshear

Chad

JHS DC Liaison

UMMC

cblackshear@umc.edu

Correa

Adolfo

JHS Investigator

UMMC

acorrea@umc.edu

Sims

Mario

JHS Investigator

UMMC

msims@umc.edu

Harman

Jane

Member

NHLBI

Jane.Harman@nih.gov

Lacy

Beth

Member

Brown

mary_lacy@brown.edu

Beech

Bettina

Member

UMMC

bbeech@umc.edu

Nelson

Cheryl

Member

NHLBI

nelsonc@nhlbi.nih.gov

Chen

Haiying

Member

Wake Forest

hchen@wakehealth.edu

Carr

Jeff

Member

Vanderbilt

j.jeffrey.carr@vanderbilt.edu

Joseph

Joshua

Member

Johns Hopkins

jjosep25@jhmi.edu

Echouffo Tcheugui

Justin B

Member

 

echouffotcheugui@gmail.com

Hairston

Kristen

Member

Wake Forest

kghairst@wakehealth.edu

Crago

Lenore

Project Manager

Wake Forest

lcrago@wakehealth.edu

Guzman

Levon A

Member

Northwestern

levon-guzman@northwestern.edu

Wagenknecht

Lynne

Member

Wake Forest

lwgnkcht@wakehealth.edu

Griswold

Michael

Member

UMMC

mgriswold@umc.edu

Casanova

Ramon

Member

Wake Forest

casanova@wakehealth.edu

Kalyani

Rita

Member

Johns Hopkins

rrastogi@jhmi.edu

Talegawkar

Sameera

Member

Johns Hopkins

stalegaw@jhsph.edu

Saldana

Santiago

Project Staff

Wake Forest

ssaldana@wakehealth.edu

Simpson

Sean L.

Member

Wake Forest

slsimpso@wakehealth.edu

Taylor

Uvonne

Member

Johns Hopkins

utaylor1@jhmi.edu

Effoe

Valery

Member

Wake Forest

veffoe@wakehealth.edu

Wu

Wen-Chih

Member

Veterans' Admin

Wen-Chih.Wu@va.gov

Bell

Ronny

Member

Wake Forest

rbell@wakehealth.edu

Last Name

First Name

Type of Member

Institutional Affiliation

Email

Boulware

Ebony

Co-Chair

Duke

ebony.boulware@duke.edu

Young

Bessie

Co-Chair

U Washington

youngb@uw.edu

Griswold

Mike

Biostatistician

UMMC

mgriswold@umc.edu

Katz

Ronit

Data Curator, Biostatistician

U Washington

rkatz@u.washington.edu

Himmelfarb

Jonathan

Director, KRI

U Washington

himmej@uw.edu

Robinson-Cohen

Cassy

Epidemiologist

U Washington

cassyrc@uw.edu

Afkarian

Maryam

Investigator

U Washington

afkarian@uw.edu

Yu

Margaret

Fellow

U Washington

mkyu@uw.edu

Roshanravan

Bob

Investigator

U Washington

broshanr@uw.edu

Suchy-Dicey

Astrid

Epidemiologist

U Washington

astridsd@uw.edu

Rivara

Matthew

Research Fellow

U Washington

mbr@uw.edu

Zelnick

Leila

Biostatistician

U Washington

lzelnick@uw.edu

Powe

Neil

Investigator

UC San Francisco

NPowe@medsfgh.ucsf.edu

Grubbs

Vanessa

Investigator

UC San Francisco

grubbsv@medsfgh.ucsf.edu

Fulop

Tibor

Investigator

UMMC

tfulop@umc.edu

Tingle

Jonathan

JHS DC Liaison/ Biostatistician

UMMC

jtingle@umc.edu

Mwasongwe

Stanford

Investigator

UMMC

smwasongwe@umc.edu

Rebholz

Casey

Member

Johns Hopkins

crebholz@jhsph.edu

Harman

Jane

Member

NHLBI

harmanj@nhlbi.nih.gov

McMullan

Ciaran

Member

 

CMCMULLAN1@partners.org

Driesback

Albert

Member

UMMC

adreisbach@umc.edu

Argawal

Moheed

Member

 

 

Banerjee

Tunsheree

Member

UC San Francisco

BanerjeeT@medsfgh.ucsf.edu

Ekunwe

Lynette

JHS RC Liaison

UMMC

lekunwe@umc.edu

Last Name

First Name

Type of Member

Institutional Affiliation

Email

Muntner

Paul

Co-Chair

U Alabama - Birmingham

pmuntner@uab.edu

Shimbo

Daichi

Co-Chair

Columbia

ds2231@cumc.columbia.edu

Ogedegbe

Olugbenga

Co-Chair

NYU

Olugbenga.Ogedegbe@nyumc.org

Norwood

Arnita

JHS RC Liaison

UMMC

afnorwood@umc.edu

Griswold

Mike

JHS Investigator

UMMC

mgriswold@umc.edu

Diaz

Keith

Member/ESI

Columbia

kd2442@cumc.columbia.edu

Abdalla

Marwah

Member/ESI

Columbia

ma2947@columbia.edu

Ladapo

Joseph

Member/ESI

NYU

Joseph.Ladapo@nyumc.org

Spruill

Tanya

Member/ESI

NYU

tanya.spruill@nyumc.org

Redmond

Nicole

Member/ESI

U Alabama at Birmingham

nredmond@uab.edu

Carson

April

Member/ESI

U Alabama at Birmingham

apcarson@uab.edu

Howard

George

Co-I

U Alabama at Birmingham

ghoward@uab.edu

Sims

Mario

Member/ JHS RC Liaison

UMMC

msims2@umc.edu

Vemulapalli

Sreekanth

Member

Duke

sreekanth.vemulapalli@duke.edu

Seals

Samantha

Member/ESI

UMMC

sseals@umc.edu

       Furniss     Anna    JHS DC Liaison    UMMC    afurniss@umc.edu

Last Name

First Name

Type of Member

Institutional Affiliation

Email

Hernandez

Adrian

Co-Chair

Duke

Adrian.hernandez@duke.edu

O’Brien

Emily

Co-Chair

Duke

Emily.obrien@duke.edu

Shahar

Eyal

Co-Chair

U Arizona

shahar@email.arizona.edu

Wang

Wei

JHS DC Liaison

UMMC

wwang@umc.edu

Norwood

Arnita

JHS RC Liaison

UMMC

afnorwood@umc.edu

Curtis

Lesley

Co-Chair

Duke

Adrian.hernandez@duke.edu

Eapen

Zubin

Co-Chair

Duke

Zubin.eaben@duke.edu

Ramachandran

Vasan

Co-Chair

U Arizona

shahar@email.arizona.edu

Mentz

Robert

Fellow

Duke

Robert.mentz@duke.edu

Last Name

First Name

Type of Member

Institutional Affiliation

Email

Lange

Leslie

Co-Chair

UNC at Chapel Hill

Leslie_lange@med.unc.edu

Wilson

James

Co-Chair

UMMC

Jgwilson2@umc.edu

Musani

Solomon

Member

UMMC

smusani@umc.edu

Gao

Yan

JHS DC Liaison

UMMC

ygao@umc.edu

Ekunwe

Lynette

Member/JHS RC Liaison

UMMC

lekunwe@umc.edu

Correa

Adolfo

Member

UMMC

acorrea@umc.edu

Mei

Hao

Member

UMMC

hmei@umc.edu

Lange

Ethan

Member

UNC at Chapel Hill

Ethan_lange@med.unc.edu

Reiner

Alex

Member

U Washington

apreiner@uw.edu

Mwasongwe

Stanford

Member

UMMC

smwasongwe@umc.edu

Peloso

Gina

Ad hoc Member

Broad Institute

gina@broadinstitute.org

Kathiresan

Sek

Ad hoc Member

Broad Institute

sekar@broadinstitute.org

Young

Taylor

Ad hoc Member

Broad Institute

tyoung@broadinstitute.org

Li

Jin

Ad hoc Member/Mentee

UNC at Chapel Hill

jinli@email.unc.edu

Naik

Rakhi

Mentee

Johns Hopkins

Rakhi@jhmi.edu

Hyacinth

Hyacinth

Mentee

Medical U of SC

hyacinth@musc.edu

Hartmann

Kate

Mentee

Ohio State University

Katherine.hartmann@osumc.edu

 

Last Name

 

First Name

 

Type of Member

 

Institutional Affiliation

 

Email

Diez Roux

Ana

Co-Chair

Drexel University

avd37@drexel.edu

Sims

Mario

Co-Chair

UMMC

MSims2@umc.edu

Correa

Adolfo

Core member

UMMC

acorrea@umc.edu

Griswold

Michael

Core member

UMMC

MGriswold@umc.edu

Dudley

Amanda

Core member

U Michigan

aidudley@med.umich.edu

Wilson

Gregory

Core member

JSU

gregory.wilson@jsums.edu

JHS Working Groups

Would you like to be added to any of our Jackson Heart Study Working Groups? 



Jackson State University was recently awarded a five year contract to implement the Jackson Heart Study (JHS) Community Outreach Center (CORC).  The contract period is from 8/16/2013-8/15/2014 for a total amount of 3,086,081.  The CORC is an expansion of the highly successful operation of the Community Partnership Office (CPO), in the Jackson State University Coordinating Center, which operated from 1999-2013.  During the era of the CPO, relationships and partnerships were developed with over 100 churches, community based organizations, governmental agencies, private non-profit organizations, other institutions of higher learning and individual partners.  A community based participatory research (CBPR) component has been added under this new contract period.

Vanguard Centers

Below link contains documentation for the JHS data, programs, teaching materials and vanguard center information

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/3x0oo9c0goilcss/AACoRa-WtlJsuDhOHHTuCbMIa

Click on the below links to watch webinar for the vanguard center package and Q/A session. 

VC Package Live session:

VC Package- Live 1 hour Q & A

We are no longer accepting Vanguard Center Applications.

Jackson Heart Study Vanguard Centers

Vanguard Collaborative Centers offer an additional mechanism for sharing Jackson Heart Study (JHS) data to foster collaborations and increase scientific productivity. JHS Vanguard Centers will enhance the scientific productivity of the JHS by participating in and contributing to JHS collaborations in the development of manuscript and ancillary study proposals and manuscripts.

 

Benefits of JHS Vanguard Centers

a.       Vanguard Centers will receive a JHS Data Package from the JHS Coordinating Center, please see the JHS Vanguard Center Package Contents document for the latest package description.

b.      JHS Vanguard Centers with expertise and experience in analysis of genetic data and with approved access to JHS dbGap data may request  access to genetic data on JHS participants who have provided consent for such collaborations.

c.       The JHS Coordinating Center will assist in answering queries from the Vanguard Centers regarding the JHS data.

 

JHS Vanguard Center Eligibility Criteria

EacJHS Vanguard Center is expected to be affiliated with a biomedical/public health research institution. To apply to become a JHS Vanguard Centeran institution must fulfill the followingeligibility criteria:

a.       Have an investigator willing to serve aPI for the Vanguard Center  and assume responsibility for overseeing security of the JHS data received;

b.      Have a data curator to serve as the primary contact for receipt of JHS Vanguard Center data updates and manage JHS datasets for Vanguard Center Investigators.

c.       Have additional investigators at the same institution willing and able to collaborate on manuscript and ancillary study proposals and on manuscripts and ancillary studies of cardiovascular diseases among JHS participants.

 

Each JHS Vanguard Center is expected to:

a.      Provide its own internal administrative support.

b.      Participate in reviews of: 2 or more manuscript proposals; 2 or more ancillary  study

      proposals per year; and 2 or more penultimate manuscripts as requested by theJHS Publications and Presentations Subcommittee (PPS) and the Ancillary Studies Subcommittee (ANSS).

c.       Submit at least 2 manuscripts per year to the PPS initiateby the Vanguard Centerand involving JHS data.

d.      Submit a semi-annual progress report online on: (1) status of manuscript proposals,ancillary study proposals and active or penultimate manuscripts initiated by the Vanguard Center; and (2) lists of reviews completed for manuscript proposals, ancillary study proposals and penultimate manuscripts.

e.       Work with JHS to improve the JHS Vanguard Center program and experience for others.

 

Investigators interested in submitting aapplication for a JHS Vanguard Center for their institution should contact Dr. Arnita Norwood  (601-815-5783, jhsccrc@umc.edu) to request an application package.